RTU Blue Thunders Champs PCUBL Season 2

May 28, 2024- In a thrilling conclusion to the Philippine Colleges and Universities Basketball League (PCUBL) Season 2, the Rizal Technological University (RTU) Blue Thunders emerged victorious over the Enverga University Wild Cats with a final score of 84-80. The championship game, held at the Amoranto Sports Complex, showcased the top-tier talent and fierce competition of collegiate basketball in the Philippines.

The game was a nail-biter from start to finish, with both teams displaying remarkable skill and determination. The Blue Thunders managed to maintain a slim lead throughout most of the match, but the Wild Cats were relentless in their pursuit, keeping the score line tight.

Kerby Escoto of RTU was named the Finals MVP, delivering an outstanding performance with 13 points, 12 rebounds, and 5 assists. Escoto’s leadership and all-around play were crucial in securing the victory for the Blue Thunders. RTU’s success was a result of a well-rounded team effort, with significant contributions from all the RTU players.

Head Coach Mr. Mandel Martires, along with his team of assistant coaches Mr. Tom Washington, Mr. Oliver Santos, and Mr. Raymond Jose, were vital in strategizing and guiding the team throughout the season. The support and guidance from consultant Mr. John Cardel also played a significant role in shaping the team’s winning strategy. The PCUBL Season 2 featured eight competitive teams: RTU, Enverga University, AMA University, Mary Queen College, Bataan Peninsula State University, PMI Colleges, DPL ng Baliwag, and Arandia College. Each team brought its own unique style and talent to the league, contributing to a highly competitive season.

With this victory, the RTU Blue Thunders have cemented their status as one of the top collegiate basketball teams in the country. As they celebrate this hard-earned championship, they also set their sights on future competitions, aiming to build on their success and continue their dominance in the league.

The win not only highlights the skill and dedication of the players but also underscores the effective coaching and management that have been integral to RTU’s success. The PCUBL Season 2 finale was a testament to the high level of basketball talent present in Philippine colleges and universities.

Fans were treated to an unforgettable game that showcased the passion and prowess of young athletes, leaving everyone eagerly anticipating the next season. For now, the RTU Blue Thunders will relish their championship triumph, a well-deserved reward for their hard work, perseverance, and team spirit.

Post Script:

The University Administration would like to acknowledge and honor the entire RTU Blue Thunders Basketball Team, consisting of:

  1. Antonio Joaqiim Nitura
  2. Kerby Escoto
  3. Rancer Serrano
  4. Stephen Torralba
  5. Francis Tony Soriano
  6. Jan Prolles
  7. Jeriko Jarabejo
  8. Arius Febry Yuan Soriano
  9. John Jacob Trinidad
  10. Jethro Emmanuel Daet
  11. Rich Sanchez
  12. Claudio Iii Gonzales
  13. John Gerald Igana
  14. Micahel Angelo Domingo
  15. Jeff Daniel Antion
  16. Gerald Gemol
  17. Reymark Tomas
  18. Yashjeet Singh Virk
  19. Mark Evans Villatema
  20. Castron Escasinas
  21. Nathan John Conte

Head Coach: Sir Mandel Martires